Repair Kit study guide: retaking assessments, new evidence, and how grades are calculated

Today’s post will be the final three questions in the frequency section of Appendix C.

 

11) I allow students to redo assessments without penalty if they have not done well.

I wasn’t sure how to answer this one as I have allowed students to retake tests and actually I require it if they get an F or D after some reteaching that is.  It’s the without penalty part that caught me because I have averaged the grades, which I guess would be count as a penalty and at other times I have replaced the grade.  I have also allowed students the chance to make corrections to their test for an additional ½ pt credit on each question corrected, would this also be counted as a penalty?  All in all this leaves me thinking I should answer sometimes or almost always.

 

12) I allow new evidence to replace, not simply be added to old evidence.

Ok so does this mean I forget or let go of old scores and only concentrate on new ones?  Does it mean don’t look at how my children have grown because I think sometimes it’s important to know where kids have come from educationally and how they got there.  Does this mean I only count the most recent scores to calculate final grades?  Is about question 11 and replacing old scores with new?  Clearly I didn’t answer this one because I feel that I need more information.

 

13) My students understand how grades will be calculated and what evidence will count.

I chose frequently.  I have made it a habit to create scoring guides for projects/writing assignments and hand them out to students when I give the assignment.  This makes it clear to students what they need to do to earn the top score and has resulted in better overall projects.

When it comes to final grades I always to try make it exceedingly clear to my students that grades are strictly points earned out of points possible.  I try to hand back homework regularly so parents can see the scores, students saw them when they graded in class.  Graded tests were required to be signed by parents no matter what the score.  This was a homework grade, something I’m sure Ken O’Connor would frown on but I wanted to be sure that parents were seeing their student’s scores.  I had tried this as an extra credit score and got about 30-35% of tests returned; when I made it a homework grade that number jumped to at least 85% returned. At progress report time I made sure I handed each child their report with assignments missing, points earned and total points possible so they could see exactly how they got their final grade.

These days many districts have online grade books so it is easier for parents to track their children’s scores and easier to show a student just their grades.

 

2 Comments

  1. Thanks for sharing this post. This book Repair Kit for Grading has been a big eye-opener for me. I’ve really reconsidered some of my positions on grades while reading it. The study guide got me thinking and helped me assess what I currently do then reading the book (I’ll get to those posts eventually LOL) I was convinced to change some of my ways. It was just more proof to me that just because something has always been done one way doesn’t mean it’s the best way or has to stay that way.

Leave a Reply

