Women In Space

Book review I wrote for my friend Amy’s book blog. Great nonfiction read, would be an excellent addition to any classroom library especially for science or history teachers.

What Will She Read Next?

UnknownBefore we let women’s history month go by unnoticed…

So I’ve been on a space kick lately, reading a LOT of books about space and astronauts.  In my hunt this book, Women in Space: 23 stories of first flights, scientific missions, and gravity-breaking adventures by Karen Bush Gibson, really caught my attention, I never knew that there were women being tested for the Mercury space program.  I never knew the Soviets launched a woman into space before the US did.  This book is in the teen section at my local library but I’d recommend it for anyone 4th grade and up, maybe even lower depending on their reading level.

This book first talks about the Mercury 13, women who underwent all of the same tests as the male Mercury 7 astronauts.  Each of these women was an accomplished pilot.  They underwent the tests often completing them with better results…

View original post 456 more words

Leave a Reply

