NaPoWriMo days 1 & 2

So it’s National Poetry Writing Month and I haven’t written a poem in quite a while so I’m up for this challenge, up for of course meaning willing to give it a try.

So here’s yesterday’s poem:

my classroom

my saunctuary

my refuge

my home away from home

my only me place

mine all mine

except when it’s not

when I share with other teachers

when I wait with angst

to see if it’s

left the way it was found

worried what I’ll have to do

to make it once again

mine all mine

my only me place

my home away from home

my refuge

my sanctuary

my classroom

 

And one for today:

A new class

and yet

they could be an old one

all over again

it never ceases to amaze me

how year after year

new students remind me

of old ones

their faces

their gestures

their attitudes

and sometimes

just the look on their faces

this can be a great thing

or a frustrating thing

depending on the student I’m reminded of

let’s be honest

some students I love

some I really like

some drove me up the wall crazy

there’s a reason

I had trouble suggesting names

when we had our son

and yet even those kids that

remind me of others

are not the same

each child is special

each child is unique

and it’s fun

to find out how

 

Hmm well that was fun, it’s been a while since I’ve just sat down and let the words flow without thinking and rethinking what I’m going to write.  Even when I reply to the Daily Post Daily Prompt I tend to read it two or three times before I’m ready to post it.  I think I’d forgotten how freeing poetry can be, especially free verse poetry, though it might be worth the challenge to try some formatted poem styles this month too.

 

Leave a Reply

