Common Core Math

Great post for teachers and parents to read about Common Core Math!

After School Plans

Image

It has become a bit of a sport to mock common core math problems. The amount of explaining and figuring has parents suggesting that the easiest way to do math is still to line the numbers up and then perform the operations. The thing is, I learned math this way. And, I can do math. But, I didn’t really understand it until I took a class on teaching math during my graduate program in education. The teacher taught us math using manipulatives. He want back to the basics, addition, subtraction, multiplication, and showed us how it worked using squares, blocks, and lines. I couldn’t believe it. I had so much fun and it felt like a new world had opened for me. Suddenly, I knew why I got the numbers that I did. I learned several ways to come to the same answer. I could see it, literally see the…

View original post 121 more words

Leave a Reply

