Reflections on being Facebook Free

So I gave up Facebook for Lent.  It was hard at the beginning especially as I never get e-mails from FB but suddenly I started getting them.  After a week or so I stopped wondering what was going on there, actually I started thinking about all the time I had wasted there.

Last night I signed in for a few minutes to see what notifications I had if any.  I had some but they really were nothing requiring immediate attention.  I noticed that the format had changed again, really no surprise there, and I noticed during a quick scroll and skim of my news feed just how little I was seeing from actual friends and family.

This morning I got on and did some spring cleaning of my friends list, it wasn’t large to begin with compared to some people (160 something) now I’m at right around 100 and will be taking another look at that list.  There is no reason to me to keep people on my list who never post so they will probably go from the list.  I also cleared out a lot of the pages I was following or had liked because they were clogging up my news feed.

I took a look at my privacy settings and locked them down further, especially on my photo albums most of which I’m going to double check that I have pictures on my computer or on our external storage and then delete.  The whole thing seems to be just a bore at this point.  Since I did that “spring cleaning” this morning I’ve been wondering why I ever spent so much time on there.

I considered deleting the page altogether but as it is the only way I keep in touch with some friends and family I will keep it but will be checking it less frequently and posting to it much less frequently as well.  I’ll continue to use the time I used to use for FB as family time, reading tome, crafting time, anything really with more positive benefits for my family and me.  I will also not be putting the FB app back on my iPod.

This has also led me to think about the amount of time I spend on Pinterest and other websites.  There are so many better ways to spend my time.  I think Pinterest is about to be deleted from my Pod as well, better to use it for music, audiobooks, and e-mail.

6 Comments

  1. Hi
    I also gave Facebook up for Lent, so naturally jumped at the chance to read your post when it appeared in my reader. I gave it up because I felt I was wasting too much time on there, and that it was making me feel more negatively about myself. However, I did find it quite hard to give up, mainly because my default action when bored or procrastinating was to log into FB and refresh my newsfeed endlessly until something new appeared. Since I’ve been back on Facebook, I have spent quite a lot of time on there catching up, but have weeded through my list of likes, and am considering unfriending people who I’m not really friends with or who make me feel less self-confident. However, I don’t want to get rid of it completely-maybe because I’m a teenager, I have a different experience? I do like seeing a lot of the pictures from pages I’ve liked and from my friends, and find it a good way to catch up with people and message them for free. I also like keeping up to date with my favourite music artists and authors.
    Thanks for the post!

    • My default action when bored used to be to go straight to FB too, Lent gave me the chance to break that habit and find other ways to deal with boredom.

      I’d say definitely delete anyone who makes you feel less confident!!! As for those that aren’t really friends think about if they post things you like and would miss or if they’re just clogging up your news feed.

      I kept following my favorite authors and a few of my favorite celebrities too.

      I decided it was the best way to stay in touch with family and friends which is why I’m keeping mine just trying to be more careful about what I post and reply to as that can come back at you when you’re an adult looking for jobs.

      Sounds like even with different experiences, perspectives, we learned some of the same things. Thanks for the comment.

  2. Also gave it up for lent and had the same conclusion. I had been wasting too much time and need to do some spring cleaning of my own. Id say I only “talk” to one quarter of the people on there but it’s nice to see the long distance fam and friends.

  3. While full time teaching, I went on to my FB page only on Saturday mornings. Now that I’m retired, I can spend 4 hours on it if I want too! But, you know what? I don’t want, too. I do love seeing activities from former Sunday School students, old friends in towns where I used to live, etc. That’s why I love the FB idea! It keeps me in touch. But, I so don’t want to see what people have had for dinner or numerous advertisements! It’s time to establish what is most important in my life. FB won’t be it, for sure.

  4. I totally admire your ability to do this!!! As a photographer and activist, FB is more than just a personal addiction, I use it for sharing photos and marketing, as well as keeping up to date with campaigns around the world for various animal rights causes. Because I am so involved personally and run several pages that engage hundreds of other individuals, I need to stay on top of what is happening. I definitely take breaks though. Even if it is moreso from the activism, sometimes you need that time to recharge and ignore what is happening in the world! Without being able to connect through FB and other social media platforms, animals rights activism would never have grown in the leaps and bounds that it has over the past few years – and FB addiction or not, I am so thankful for it!

Leave a Reply

