Repair Kit Fix 9: comparing students grades

Fix 9: Don’t assign grades based on a student’s achievement compared to other students; compare each student’s performance to preset standards.

I don’t understand how this is even an issue.  I can’t imagine ever assigning grades based on how a student compares to another student.  I don’t need convincing on this one but I’ll read it anyway I might still learn something new.

OK YAY!!!  They say no bell curve and I’m all for that.  I really truly do NOT like the bell curve when it comes to grading at any level and yes I mean even at the college level.

“Rationale for creating a competitive grading environment in standards driven schools is it provides motivation and highly motivated students learn more…those at the bottom motivation wanes.”

Yep, this is exactly as I see it.  When kids feel like they don’t stand a chance they stop trying.

Teacher Vignette: I’m intrigued by the fact that this teacher allows students to take home the test and do prep work before writing final essay.  Most standardized tests these days require some higher level thinking and written responses but they also have the text right there for students to reference, this is why I began allowing or actually telling my students to use their novels when taking in-class exams.  I know this has nothing to do with the fix but the vignette made me think of it.

Short post here I know but I just don’t have much to say when I completely agree with this fix.

 

 

Leave a Reply

