YA Free Verse

My review of YA free verse books for What Will She Read Next? Unfortunately I forgot Make Lemonade by Virginia Euwer Wolff, another excellent free verse book that I just discovered has two sequels. I’ll be checking them out and you should too.

What Will She Read Next?

9781442471818_p0_v3_s260x420 In recognition of National Poetry Month I wanted to share with you some examples of what seems to have become a big trend in young adult novels: free verse.  There may have been a few written over the years but in the past decade there seems to have been almost an explosion of books in this area.

The first I ever came across was Crank by Ellen Hopkins.  This book can seem overwhelming when you first pick it as will most of Hopkins’s books due to the sheer number of pages, don’t let this fool you though as the book is written in free verse it moves very quickly.  Crank is loosely based on Hopkins’s own daughter’s addiction to meth.  The fast flowing free verse style pulls you into the story.  I can’t tell you how many students came to me after reading it wanting to know what happened…

View original post 418 more words

Leave a Reply

