A teacher’s plea to other teachers part 2

Please if there are set behavior expectations for everyone in the building to follow such as line and hallway behavior have your kids follow those behaviors.

If you have to refill the paper in the copier or printer, please don’t put in just enough for what you’re copying/printing.  Fill the tray!

Also if you’re using the copier and using colored paper or card stock, when you get done take out the leftover and put it back where you found it so the office staff doesn’t needlessly go looking for more of a certain color or order more when it is not necessary.

On that note, be kind to office staff, custodians, cafeteria workers, support staff in general.  Yes administrators are in charge of the building but it is the support staff that actually keeps it running, especially the secretaries.  A friend of mine told me when she went for a parent orientation at her daughter’s school the teachers leading the orientation told them to make extra copies of anything they send to the office because the office staff is incompetent.  UM what?  Never say that to parents even if you believe it.

Now on that note never say anything negative to parents or students about another staff member.  Yes people don’t always get along but complaining about other teachers to students is just irresponsible and disrespectful, something we don’t want our students to be.  If a student asks you directly for your opinion, and it happens, say you don’t know the teacher very well, say you don’t always see eye-to-eye as happens in life but you’re sure he or she is a competent teacher.  Side step if you have to, admit you don’t always get along maybe but don’t badmouth a fellow teacher or staff member.

If you have a problem with a staff member talk to them first before talking to administration.  I felt completely cornered my first year teaching (I was a traveling teacher) when two assistant principals called me in to talk to me about complaints made by another teacher who had never spoken to me.  They were small complaints and had she expressed them to me I would have made changes.  I felt disrespected when she didn’t come to me first.   If you are uncomfortable speaking to them try an e-mail or with another teacher.  Don’t confront them in a large group, I made this mistake, not purposely but I still felt really bad about it.  I disagreed with the rewards policy of another teacher in that her rewards were things like students wearing pajamas all day.  While I supported her right to give rewards I felt that those rewards should only be in her class and not all day as they had not necessarily earned a reward in my class.  I went about talking to her the wrong way and hurt her feelings as well as causing some unnecessary conflict.  I learned my lesson please learn from my mistake!

1 Comment

  1. What you have written reminds me of Matthew 18:15, “…if a brother shall trespass against thee, go and tell him his fault between thee and him alone: if he shall hear thee, thou hast gained thy brother.” Then God goes on to say that if he won’t hear thee, take one or two more people to again share your concerns with him/her as witnesses. After that point, administration steps in between the original two. It works and, as you said, most people avoid the individual confrontation. They’d rather tattle tale. Good for you.

    P.S. Did you see that I have a contact who is looking for teachers to teach in CA and AZ? Maybe you’re interested?

Leave a Reply

