In Honor of D Day

My reviews/reccomendations of some non-holocaust related WWII books for What Will She Read Next? Great books for a classroom library or for the history lover.

What Will She Read Next?

I saw a commercial the other day for The Monuments Men, which is now out on DVD.  This is a WWII era story about the military men who searched for and recovered art stolen by the Nazis during their various occupations.  This got me to thinking there are so many stories written about the Holocaust but harder to find are books set in WWII but about other topics.  I know there are several out there as I have read them myself and read them with students so I thought I’d give you a list of books to check out.  And with the 70th anniversary of D Day coming up tomorrow, these books tell the stories that we must not forget.  

9780547577098_p0_v2_s260x420First up is Number the Stars by Lois Lowry, based on the true story of how the Danish people saved 90% of their Jewish population from death this book…

View original post 932 more words

Leave a Reply

