Who am I as a reader? part 2

Back today to finish answering those me as a reader questions.  There are four more and here they are.

What do you think of the different book formats: paper, electronic, audio?

Paper is by far my preferred format for books, I just love turning the pages, the scent of a brand new book, the satisfaction of seeing a stack of completed books on my nightstand, and the anticipation of a stack of books to read.  I do enjoy the convenience of e-books though I only have an iPod Touch, I might like them more if I had a bigger e-reader.  It’s nice though to always have book with me I can take out and read without having to think about packing one because my Pod is always with me.  The biggest problem I have is that I’ll be right in the middle of a book and the battery will die and I won’t be somewhere where I can charge it.  Audio books, as a reader not for me, as a teacher I love them!  I’ve never gotten into audiobooks because I find that the person reading often emphasizes things differently than I do and it takes me out of the story.  As a teacher I’ve found that audio books can be really helpful for struggling readers. I used to teach middle school communication arts.  We would read a novel as a class, with students reading on their own.  Lower level readers struggled with completing these assignments, but when given the opportunity to listen to an audio version of the book and follow along in their paper copy their comprehension increased and they could stay on task and complete their assigned reading.  Also I noticed that there was an increase in their own reading fluency.
What genres do you read?  Are there any you won’t read?

You know I don’t think there are any genres I won’t read.  There are some I haven’t really read like Westerns but I am open to them.  I learned my lesson about cutting out genres in high school.  At the ripe old age of 16 I was sure I would never read a fantasy book.  The guy I was dating at the time was reading a series by R. A. Salvatore.  I think I made a face when he showed me the book, he asked why and I, very ignorantly said I was not interested in books with dwarves and elves and stuff like that!  Oh boy, was I dumb!  He tried to change my mind but I wouldn’t listen.  He left the book in my car accidentally and as I had nothing else to read at home, which was really odd for me, I picked it up.  Yeah I picked it up and couldn’t put it down; he had practically beg me to give it back.  The Crystal Shard was my gateway into the fantasy genre and I have never looked back and since then I have also stayed open to the possibility that any book could be a great book.  (I should also note this book became my introduction to bookstore reward clubs lol, when I went off to college I had trouble not spending money as so many kids do, my biggest problem though was books and not textbooks as we could rent them from the school.  It was the day I went into the bookstore at the mall and came across this series by Salvatore.  I think I bought 9 or 10 books that day Thank Heaven for the rewards club it paid off with that first purchase alone 🙂 )

What are your favorite books/least favorite books?

Favorite books, well that’s a hard one I love so many books.  I could make a really long list, type for an hour and still not list them all.  Least favorite well there is only one that comes to mind and before I tell you what it is I’m going to get behind my Mythbusters style blast shield.  Ok now that I’m safe I can tell you I do not like the book Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger.  I remember loving this book when I read it in high school.  It is a classic and very popular however I reread it several years ago and just could not finish it.  There were times when I wanted to reach into the book, haul Holden out and smack him!  If I didn’t respect books so much I would have thrown this one across the room. I’m not sure if it was because I was reading it as an adult or if it was because I was teaching pre-teen and teenagers that did it but all of a sudden I was identifying with the teachers and parents and not Holden.  I kinda wish I’d left the book on the shelf because the reread resulted in losing the joy of the story I remembered.  Fortunately other books I read and enjoyed in high school that I have reread have not left me feeling the same.  I mentioned the Twilight series in the young adult vampire post on What Will She Read Next.  I also have to say I love Harry Potter but I really wanted to take an editing pen to Goblet of Fire it was just too wordy, Tolkein levels of description and I do love Tolkein but not that style in a kids/young adult book.

 

Who are your favorite authors/ least favorite authors?

Favorite authors is a list nearly as long as books but for this I’ll give it a shot: Adult fiction authors – Debbie Macomber, Sherryl Woods, Susan Wiggs, Emily March, Dorothea Benton Frank, Laurell K Hamilton, Orson Scott Card, JRR Tolkein, Betty Hechtman, Jenn McKinlay and many more.  Children’s/Young Adult authors: J.K. Rowling, Lois Lowry, S.E. Hinton, Lloyd Alexander, Madeline L’Engle, Beverly Cleary, Eric Carle, David Shannon and many more.  As for least favorite only one name comes to mind: Stephenie Meyer.  I respect that she has written books that became popular and that I can use those books as a gateway to get my students reading better books but the quality of her writing makes me cringe!  I want to yell at her “Show me how the characters are feeling don’t just tell me”.  Don’t just say someone is angry show me: Her hands fisted up, knuckles turning white, jaw clenched and brow furrowed as she spat out… ok you get the idea now if only she did!

Ok so that’s it for my reading profile.  How about you?  How would you answer these four questions?

Leave a Reply

