I love the $ store

I think I’d love the dollar store even if I weren’t a teacher, but as I am it’s one of my favorite places to shop. 🙂  Kiddo and I ran into Dollar Tree not long ago and I ended up picking up several things for my classroom.

First I found these collapsible “crates” I’ll be using these to store the K, 1, and 2 “mission reports” (there’s my space theme) I need to go back and get some more for organizing my books.

IMG_7664

Then all teachers need stickers, and yes I mean all teachers, I know little ones love them and when I taught middle schoolers they loved them too, I recently saw a blog post with a HS teacher talking about how much her students like stickers or stamps on their papers.  Also some new glue stick pens I want to try.

IMG_7665

To go with my space theme I found a few books, I have two of the second book so that I can take it apart and use just the space pages in it for my walls.

IMG_7666

Ok the next may seem like a strange purchase but I swear it’s not.  I bought tissue paper, I plan on laminating the three sheets of silver to put on my desk to make it look more metallic as my desk will be “Mission Control” 🙂

IMG_7667

I bought five pairs of sunglasses, that will become “Astronaut glasses” the kids can wear as a reward (Class Dojo post to follow).  I’ll be taking the lenses out and painting these silver.

IMG_7668

Finally some stuffies that the kids can snuggle with (another CD reward) and yes even the 4th and 5th graders will want to.  The stars are from $ Tree but the shuttle isn’t, had to sneak in a pic of it though.  I found it at Build a Bear/Dino in the St.  Louis Science Center.  I love it, when the kids don’t have it at their “control station” I’ll have it at Mission Control.

IMG_7670

There you have it one trip to the $ store, I really do love that place.  I can spend way too much even there. 🙂

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

