My technology classroom part 1

I’ve been taking pictures of my technology classroom as I get different sections done.  We’re in our fourth week of school and I’m still not completely done, so this will be at least a two part post, and maybe a bit more.   First here’s what you see when you come to my door.

IMG_7906

Each rocket has one of the grade levels that I teach.  The higher rockets are the upper grades as they’ve been doing technology longer and have learned more already.  The stars at the top:

IMG_7907

Each star is one thing that we do during the year.  Not every grade will do each thing but I wanted a large selection up there, and this goes well with my Space theme for the year.

I don’t have a picture of the room as a whole strangely enough, guess I’ll have to take one of those tomorrow.  However as you walk in I have a file cabinet and on the side is this “Can I use this image? copyright” flowchart.

IMG_7951

Next up I have my Objectives board:

IMG_7960 IMG_7935 IMG_7934

You can see the Computer Pioneers posters I have above the board, that still needs a title though.  Each grade level has a laminated “white board” page that I write their objectives on.  The objectives all come from the ISTE/NETS*S and the CSTA K-12 Computer Science Standards.  I write them in kid friendly “I can” statements.

Finally on that side of my room are some cabinets up high with posters from Code.org and random tech posters.

IMG_7961

Below the cabinets I have a small reading area.  I think every room no matter the subject area should have books available to kids.  When my students finish an assignment on the computer and we’re not ready to move on as a class they can go sit and read a book.

IMG_7962

With my space theme I have a Space word wall in this area, as well as cover pictures of technology and space books.  The blue container are fiction books, green is non-fiction, I have two sets of children’s encyclopedias, a tub of Magic School Bus books, another of Berenstain Bear books, and finally a tub of hand made and bound books from Netsmartzkids, Hector’s World, and other tech oriented hand made books.

On to the front wall, that bulletin board is not done yet so I’ll take a picture of it when it is and share it.  However I can show you my SMARTboard area.

IMG_7939 IMG_7947 IMG_7948

Under my SMART board are the K-2 file folders and my tub of centers.  Above are various posters.  I also forgot my room has lots of doors leading into other places.  I turned this one into a bulletin board.

IMG_7936

Last thing for today my desk area, or “Mission Control” to go with the theme.  You’ll see lots of posters behind my desk.  Most of these I’ve blogged about previously and I’ll add links later.

IMG_7940 IMG_7949

Well that’s about a third of my room, most of two walls though no computers or the other two walls.  More another day.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Day 5: RT – classroom appearance | One Educator's Life

Leave a Reply

