Day 4: RT – love of teaching

What do you love the most about teaching?

My kids, all of them 🙂  I really love that as a specials “teacher” I see the kids year after year.  I love that I get to build on their knowledge from last year.  I know what we learned.  I know which students excelled in which areas and which struggled.  I get to build stronger relationships with my students having them again and again.  I felt the same way in my last contracted position. I taught 6-8 com arts in a small rural district.  I really got to know my students and their families.  It was so neat to see them grow up.  I’ve gotten baby shower and wedding invitations and it just touches my heart that they think of me on those special occasions.  I’m not sure how often that happens to a regular classroom teacher.  I’m sure it still does but I think those of us that loop with kids do create a deeper bond with them.

Leave a Reply

