Day 10: RT – random things

Share five random facts about yourself.

  1. I love chocolate.
  2. Over nine years I took a short story used as a demonstration piece for a class I taught and turned it into a complete novel, I haven’t done anything with it, completing it was accomplishment enough for me.
  3. I have one kiddo.
  4. I still have the same best friends I’ve had for 20+ years, since high school.
  5. I am the sixth member of my family to work for my current district, the third to teach in the district.

Share four things from your bucket list.

  1. I want to go to Europe.
  2. I’d like to participate in NaNoWriMo again and complete a novel in one month.
  3. I want to learn Javascript or another computer programming language.
  4. I want to become fluent in a second language.

Share three things that you hope for this year, as a “person” or an educator.

  1. I hope to express to others just how important my job is and get the discussion going for it to become a contracted position.
  2. I hope I don’t cry at my son’s first communion this year, yeah not likely. 🙂
  3. I hope my students leave my class at the end of the year remembering how to be safe online, with an interest in coding, and enjoying technology for more than play.

Share two things that have made you laugh or cry as an educator.

Laugh – I was on lunch duty during a first grade and kindergarten lunch one day when the PTO was having a celebration for the kids.  They were playing Kidz Bop.  Gangnam Style came on, almost the entire cafeteria got up and began to sing and dance. It was a little kid flash mob.

Cry – I have attended several 8th grade graduations and two high school graduations.  I bawled like a baby at each and every one.  I gave a speech at two different 8th grade graduations at the request of the class and barely made it through.

Share one thing you wish more people knew about you.

I wish more people knew that I’m doing a teacher’s job at a classroom assistant’s pay, that I love the job and would keep it if it would just become a contracted position.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

