Day 21: RT – hobbies and interests

Do you have other hobbies/interests that you bring into your classroom teaching? Explain.

Reading for enjoyment and writing for enjoyment.  I often have read books in class for fun.  When the class is reading their own books I made a point to spend a few minutes of that time to read to myself.  I wanted to model reading for enjoyment.  A few years ago all of my middle school com arts classes participated in NaNoWriMo Young Writer’s Program.  I participated along with them, writing my own novel.  I managed to hit 50,000 words on the very last day and to be honest most of what I wrote ended up being deleted but I still accomplished the goal and let my kids know just how excited I was to do so.

I also crochet, it’s probably my main hobby after reading and before writing.  I make blankets/rugs for my classroom and pillows.  At one point I had skeins of yarn and hooks in the corner of my classroom and I taught students how to crochet when they finished other work, they learned not only to make something but to read another “language” (crochet and knit patterns are their own language) they also had to work on their math skills.

I’m a big proponent of pulling examples from pop culture so my students learn that there are certain shows on TV or that used to be on TV that I really like.  I’ve used examples from The Simpsons: interjections Doh and Cowabunga, Star Trek The Next Generation: collective nouns The Borg, propaganda techniques several episodes of M*A*S*H, etc.

Leave a Reply

