Day 24: RT – learning trends

Which learning trend captures your attention the most, and why? (Mobile learning, project-based learning, game-based learning, etc.)

I think the trend that has most caught my attention of late is the Flipped Classroom.  I’ll be honest I haven’t had the chance to learn as much about it as I’d like just yet but it intrigues me.  The idea of assigning videos or websites to investigate at home and then discussing them or completing work in the classroom is really interesting to me.  The first thing I thought of when I heard of this approach was “what about those kids that don’t have access to technology at home?”  then it also reminded me a bit of the English classes I had in high school, read the book at home then discuss in class.  I had gotten away from that style in my classroom preferring to read the book together in class and discuss throughout the reading.  My husband taught at a college for a while and he took training on the flipped classroom, when he came home I begged his notes off of him but unfortunately there just wasn’t enough information to give me a complete picture.  I’d really like to observe a classroom using this technique to get a real-world idea of how this works.

Leave a Reply

