Day 30: RT – if you weren’t afraid

I can’t believe I’ve reached the end of this challenge.  I know I’ve learned a lot about myself as a teacher over the past month.  I’m so glad I found this challenge and decided to take part in it even if it was a month late. 🙂  With that in mind here’s day 30:

What would you do (as a teacher) if you weren’t afraid?

I have absolutely no idea.  I’ve been thinking about this for days. (I like to read ahead on the questions)  I just really don’t know.  I might give my students more freedom to determine what they learn, in what order, and how, though I’m afraid of this do to the logistics of a classroom of 20 kiddos each doing their own thing, and the fear that they’d see what others are doing and not finish what they’re working on instead jumping to what others are doing.  Maybe if I give them a list of things that have to be done by a certain time and let them choose the order they do them in this might be a step in that direction.

More simple and base than that I might just say to a child “you know others would stop saying mean things to you if you’d quit being mean to them.”  There are students I have now who cry and cry when others say things like “I don’t want to be your friend anymore” and yet the crier is often the one that started everything in the first place, I get frustrated with them and I want to say “well that’s what you get for being a brat!”  On second thought nope even if I wasn’t afraid I don’t think I’d do that.

Leave a Reply

