Classroom Challenges in 2014

JBC: 9) What challenges I had faced during teaching in 2014 that had helped me to grow professionally?

I’m going to go back to the beginning of last school year 2013/2014.  I switched buildings though I continued to hold the same position: Technology classroom assistant, which means I teach technology classes to k-2 classes as well as those students who do not take strings in 4th and 5th.  Part way into the year I was given a classroom so all of my students come to me (most of the year anyway) rather than my going classroom to classroom.  My job has very little curriculum and in my previous building all I did was travel room to room without the option of every student getting on a computer.  Moving to having a classroom where I had a computer for every child was a challenge in that I needed a whole new set of lesson plans but I feel so much stronger in my technology abilities after this past year and a half.  I feel much more comfortable introducing students to various programs.  I have also become a resource in the building for staff members when our actual tech guy is at his other building.  That really builds confidence.

 

Leave a Reply

