TLAP #1: Content Passion

DISCUSSION QUESTION #1:  Within your subject matter, what are you passionate about teaching?

I’m passionate about teaching students coding.  It is so exciting to see them use coding skills to learn to solve problems one step at a time, they learn to look back slowly to find their “bugs”.  It’s awesome to see a kindergartner write a computer program.  I’ve also become really passionate about teaching kids to utilize Google Apps, I never cease to be amazed at how rapidly students pick up and remember how to log in to Google, how to open a Doc, and be able to make it their own with color, font, and size.  After teaching Google Slides it’s a bright spot in my day when students come in and tell me they’ve been working on their projects at home.  My class is obviously not one that has homework so when kids voluntarily work on any of their projects, coding, or keyboarding at home it makes my day. 🙂  These skills are ones that will help set our kids up to be successful members of our highly technological society and I want them to be the best they can be.

Leave a Reply

