TLAP #4: Ask and Analyze

This section is all about creativity.  Dave Burgess says the following:  

Many people believe only two kinds of people exist in the world- those who are creative and those who are not.” (Burgess p.33)

  1. Do you agree or disagree with the statement above?  Explain
  2. When/Where do you get your best ideas?
  3. What were you a-ha’s or big take away from the Ask and Analyze section?

1) I don’t think that there are two types of people in the world but I do believe that there are many people who think that.  I’ve come across those who have said that to me about my crocheting, “wish I could be creative like you.”  I have times where I feel like I’m in a creative dry spell and those where the ideas just keep coming.

2) My ideas can come at any time, but where is a different story.  I spend a lot of time looking at Pinterest when I’m feeling stuck, I also visit ett.spruz an elementary tech teachers forum online, I talk to the other TCAs in the district, and browse teacherspayteachers.com.  The best ideas I think come from a combination of those sources.

3) My biggest take away is to do what we ask kids to do “be willing to fail!”  We learn from our failures often more than from our successes.  One of my very first lessons during field experience in college was a complete failure to the surprise of not only me but also my cooperating teacher, we both learned from that.  I think there are things I’ve thought about trying and don’t because of that fear.  It hits me at random times, I can be fearless or fearful depending on the lesson and group of students.

 

 

Leave a Reply

