TLAP #5: Transformation

This chapter focused on making a change in your classroom set up and in your lessons. Burgess starts out stating that you don’t want your lessons to be ordinary. You want your lessons to be remarkable.

“Remarkable means that you are so exceptional and different that people talk about you- in a good way.” (Burgess p.56)

Burgess asks us these 2 questions:

  1. If your students didn’t have to be there, would you be teaching in an empty room?  
  2. Do you have any lessons you could sell tickets for?  

Respond to the above.

3.  Do you currently use positioning and reframing in your classroom?  If so, how?  If not, how can you change what you are doing to include these ideas/strategies?

1) I don’t think I’d be teaching in an empty room now, there were times when I taught middle school com arts that that might have happened especially when we were doing grammar units and I struggled to make them interesting, but the reactions of the kiddos now tell me that they’d still be there.

2) Lessons I could sell tickets for: I think maybe I could do that for the beginning of Code, other than that most of my ticket worthy lessons are from my MSCA days – The Outsiders debates, The Giver fish bowl, and Comic Strip grammar.

3) I try to always link what we’re doing to real life examples, ways that what we’re learning will be used in students’ everyday lives as they grow up.  We discuss the number and variety of jobs that require typing skills, we talk about how coding is really problem solving and those are steps we can use when faced with any problem, one of the biggest for me is teaching the fourth and fifth graders how to use the internet to research effectively and how to locate reliable resources, this can be tied to looking for jobs, homes or almost anything else you purchase to find the best products and the best prices.

Leave a Reply

