TLAP #8: Hooks

“Much of your success as an educator had to do with your attitude towards teaching and towards kids. The rest of your success is based on your willingness to relentlessly search for what engages students in the classroom and then having the guts to do it.” (Burgess p.84)

“…don’t take it too seriously. Be willing to have fun with the process.”(Burgess p.85)

The hooks that Burgess shares are really brain teasers for teachers when they are creating lessons. It goes back to the Ask & Analyze section of the book. If you don’t ask the questions, you’ll never come up with the answers.

DISCUSSION QUESTION – Choose ONE (or more, if you like)  of the HOOKS from above. (this was in my online study but I didn’t add all of the hooks here, if you’re curious about them I’d suggest checking out the book)  How have used this HOOK or how do you plan to use a HOOK in the future to engage your students?

I use the Kinesthetic/People prop hooks every year when I first introduce code.  I use students as the one to be programmed, the obstacles, and the programmers.  Kids get excited and the awesome thing I see is by demonstrating this way throughout the year as kids get stuck on a program they stand up and move themselves the way they want to move the character being programmed.  They use the squares of the carpet as the squares of the program.  Right now I’m working on a craft shop hook.  Binary can be a tough concept for kids to understand, I found a cute idea on Pinterest to have kids create a beaded binary name bracelet.  I’m trying to do the same thing with embroidery thread in a friendship bracelet and with rubber bands in band bracelets.  I think this will be fun for the kids, they can make bracelets, necklaces, keychains, etc,  They’ll be creative and learn more about the binary system at the same time.  I’m excited to try this one with the kiddos.  Editing to add bc I’m excited and wanted to share here are three binary bracelets I made as examples for the kids. The first two say davis in binary, the one farthest to the rights is KM IT (my school initials and class).

binary bracelets

Leave a Reply

