TLAP: prepping to actually Teach Like a Pirate

So I feel re-energized after reading TLAP or at least I did until I sat down and started looking into planning lessons using the hooks and then I began to feel overwhelmed.  There can be so much to do to prepare a lesson that will be exciting and engaging and that kids will remember.  It’s not that it’s not worth it, because it really is.  For me it’s that my brain just won’t shut off with ideas LOL.  I’m laying in bed at night literally thinking “ok brain turn off now, we can work on this in the morning”  I have purchased the bands and thread to do the binary bracelets so that’s ready to go.  My next step is to work on the internet safety scavenger hunt and make it a bit more fun make the activities that go with each site more than just answering questions, then to work on Keyboarding lessons that are more engaging.  My to do list is growing and growing but I’m enjoying the challenge, I just have to keep reminding myself I don’t have to change everything at once.  Pick one or two lessons to work on at a time and space those out with the lessons I already do that are more engaging more TLAP, then I can use my plan times to work on adding more hooks to the lessons to come.

Leave a Reply

